Miscellaneous

Why 2015 was the best year of my life… and how I’m going to make 2016 even better

2015 was an immense year for me, I changed so much as a person through my experiences and did so many things for the first time. I learnt a great many lessons last year which I know will help me, not only in 2016, but in the years to come.

Why 2015 was so awesome:

  1. I went to the USA for the first time. This was massive for me as it was the furthest I had ever been from home and my family and due to the room arrangements I became so much closer to one of my friends who I would now probably say was my best friend. Also I really love the look of America so going there (and loving it as much as I did) reinforced this, meaning I definitely want to live there one day. DSCN0367.JPG
  2. I sat my GCSEs and came out with good results.However as happy as I was with my results I know that I let myself down. They reflected the amount of work I put in rather than how clever I actually am, which was disappointing. However, this means that I more motivated to do well with my A Levels than I could have imagined I would be this time last year.
  3. I had my first kiss. I was 16 years old when this happened (it was a few days before my 17th). I kind of felt like I was being left behind as my friends were in relationships and doing things a long way past just kissing. However, because I had left it so long to have my first kiss I wanted it to be a good one and one I wouldn’t regret. I kind of regret it because of the following conversation of “I like you” and then him saying “I like you too… but not like that” but ironically we are better friends now than we were before. It’s safe to say I was slightly devastated and there were more tears than I’d like to admit to. But it did gave me a lot more confidence when it came to other guys so I guess there are some positives.
  4. I started eating much more healthily and joined the gym, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for so long that it feels great to finally do it. I feel a lot better in myself and have already started to notice a difference. Post workout soreness is now one of my favourite things.
  5. I sort of chose a career path. Now, it isn’t that precise but I think that is more suitable for me. I want to go into the financial sector, this might be accounting, stock broking or any number of other jobs.

And how I’m going to make 2016 even better:

  1. By being more positive. Obviously I can’t just change my mindset with a click of my fingers but I can definitely make small changes which will hopefully improve it over time. My first goal is to moan less. I am a massive moaner and am always complaining about something but there are people who have it much worse than me so I’m going to try and be much more optimistic about things.
  2. Being more confident. Again, confidence isn’t something you can just have but something you work towards. I am so much more confident than I was this time last year and I want to be able to say that at the start of 2017 too. This covers all types of confidence, the general kind but also body confidence as this is something I most definitely lack. By going to the gym I’m hoping that I can build a body that I am proud of and I think that is going to be hugely important. I might not have the best bum or the smallest waist but I will put so much time and effort into my body that hopefully I will learn to love it.
  3. Working harder at school. As I mentioned earlier I was disappointed with my GCSE results, I don’t want to feel this way about my AS ones in the summer or my A Level ones next year. Also, this is the year that I apply to university so I need some good predicted grades.
  4. By travelling more. Travelling is a passion of mine which I am yet to really explore however over the next couple of years I want to go and see more of the world. Whether this is with family, friends or even by myself.

Thank you for reading and hopefully I will be posting again soon.

One thought on “Why 2015 was the best year of my life… and how I’m going to make 2016 even better

Leave a Reply

